Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change .


A beloved natural historian explores how climate change is driving evolution

InHurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid, biologist Thor Hanson tells the remarkable story ofhow plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out. Anole lizards have grown larger toe pads, to grip more tightly in frequent hurricanes. Warm waters cause the development of Humboldt squid to alter so dramatically that fishermen mistake them for different species. Brown pelicans move north, and long-spined sea urchins south, to find cooler homes. And when coral reefs sicken, they leave no territory worth fighting for, so aggressive butterfly fish transform instantly into pacifists.

A story of hope, resilience, and risk, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid is natural history for readers of Bernd Heinrich, Robin Wall Kimmerer, and David Haskell. It is also a reminder of how unpredictable climate change is as it interacts with the messy lattice of life.

Authors: Thor Hanson

Date: 2021

Upload Date: 9/29/2021 7:45:10 AM

Format: epub

Pages: 304

OCR:

Quality:

Language: English

ISBN / ASIN: 1541672429

ISBN13:

[ad_1]
[ARSocial_Lite_Locker id=1]
Please click here——->Free down
[/ARSocial_Lite_Locker]

[ad_2]

This website is authorized using the BY-NC-SA 4.0Authorization by agreement.